Illustration of Alaskan Indian masks

Windows Vista imploded on my computer today. My lovely wife and I spent the majority of the day attempting with little success to bring Vista back to life. I was not able to finish the Illustration Friday picture I planned on completing. Instead, I have posted two drawings of Alaskan Indian masks I drew earlier this week during an art teacher in-service meeting. I created these drawing with a Crayola pen brush. In the first meeting of the in-service, all of us art teachers were packed into a computer lab. Several presenters tried to show us PowerPoint slides without a means to project them. I found a book about non-Western art, ensconced myself in a quite corner and sketched away.

Tagged , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Illustration of Alaskan Indian masks

  1. Nathan says:

    I wonder if these were the masked avengers of the native world, the fur caped crusaders who fought Windigo Man, the League to Stop Human Sacrifice and possibly, The Parable? “Parable me this, Ancestors of my Dead and Side Kick Slash and Burn . . . .” The Three Sister and Spirit of White Buffalo Women Who has been Gutted, could be their romantic buck-skinned maidens. But, yeah, over thinking again. Too bad you didn’t make the post. Still, like the ink work. It captures the imagery of those masks secreted away in secluded museum alcoves. These images actually might make nice skin templates, another art form which some Indian tribal groups were quite expert at.

  2. Nate,
    The brush pen I was using is great for bold broad fluid marks. As for Super Holikachuk Man, I don’t think that would go over too well. I can see your reasoning with the mask and all. Once again, over thinking it. We sure have seen a great deal of secluded museum alcoves and I hope to see a great deal more.

  3. Nathan says:

    Best secluded museum alcove story: Ciro’s Egyptian Museum, where everywhere you turn is a dusty, neglected artifact featured in countless books on ancient Egypt. It would be like wandering the Smithsonian only to discover the Constitution between the Stupidest War Lego Collection and Taft’s bathtub.

Leave a Reply

