Abraham Lincoln Gettysburg Address illustration

This is my entry for this week’s Illustration Friday word of the week. The word of the week is, “capable”. For some reason, President Abraham Lincoln comes to mind when I think of that word. He unquestionably was capable of creating a memorable speech. In this composition, I plagiarized freely from myself, a common practice among deadline-pressed illustrators. I used a sketch of Abraham Lincoln from an earlier drawing of mine and modified the sketch. I added the audience behind our capable 16th President.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Abraham Lincoln Gettysburg Address illustration

  1. Nathan says:

    Like your sketch. Which speech was this? It’s nice the boy general, Custer, showed up. I also see Gideon Welles and William Seward.

    • I did draw a Custer-like figure in the background. I also included a Ulysses S. Grant-ish man with a walking cane. It looks like a meeting of a Colonel Mustard Convention happening behind President Lincoln.

  2. Cindy D. says:

    Wow, terrific job with all the figures. I do envy folks who can do people well (I may have to practice some. Or just stick to beasts – they complain less!) Really nice composition and great job on all their individual faces and great details in their suits.

  3. Cindy D,
    Thanks for the thoughtful comment. Thanks for once again taking a look at my illustration.

Leave a Reply

