An illustration of a Viking I made for a friend

This is an illustration of a Viking I made for a friend. This Viking doesn’t look too into ravaging and plundering. The illustration is created with pen, ink and acrylic paints. I wanted to create a mysterious mountain atmosphere around the Viking figure. I like how the composition all points towards his face. Lately, I have not had the time to participate in Illustration Friday. Next week, I’ll have to get back to participating.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “An illustration of a Viking I made for a friend

  1. Nathan says:

    Great picture, but where are his horns? Oh wait, that would be the NFL Minnesota Vikings. The background to your composition is quite spectacular. It reminds me of when the vikings invaded East Anglia and encountered the Hound of the Baskervilles. Well actually, since it was the dark ages, the Hound might not have immigrated to the West country. Oh, why does the viking have his koteka slung over his shoulder? Of course, I might be getting my primeval natives mixed up. By-and-by, the 100th anniversary of the Titanic’s sinking is coming up; you should incorporate some Titanic themes into Illustration Friday. We are also coming upon the 15th anniversary to another disaster- James Cameron’s movie, “Titanic”.

  2. Nate,
    I went for a more historically accurate Viking and left the horns back in Minnesota. A koteka is a New Guinea thing as far as I can tell. You just wanted to name drop the koteka. I’ll see if I can work in a Titanic sketch before April 15th. I can’t promise anything too Titanic.

  3. Nathan says:

    If you do a Titanic sketch, I will say something like, “Titanic scenery,” or somehow cleverly use the word Titanic. You know, for my 100th anniversary party, the one feature that will not be showcased is the movie, “Titanic.” Now if you excuse me, I am going to Sears to try on some kotekas.

  4. Drawrite says:

    I really like the texture in the background!

Leave a Reply

