My entry for this week’s Illustration Friday word of the week.

This is my entry for this week’s Illustration Friday word of the week. The word of the week is, “swamp”. This picture was created last spring break as a self promotional illustration. I used oil paints and watercolor to make the picture. I was thinking about a boy in a boat in the bayou outside of New Orleans. The boy’s name is Billy Joe the brass player from the bayou. I love oil paints, but they are too time consuming and impractical for most of my illustrations.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “My entry for this week’s Illustration Friday word of the week.

  1. Cindy D. says:

    This is great, so much to see! I love those lily pads and all the great critters, including those cute fish and giant yellow bugs. Really nice job.

  2. jose says:

    I like the peace that you can feel looking your nice illustration.
    Congrats my friend!!

  3. Drawrite says:

    This is an awesome piece. This details are really cool!!

  4. Drawrite,
    Glad you like the piece. Thanks for the comment!

  5. Wonderful storytelling! Clearly EVERYONE appreciates this boy’s musical talents! All of your characters are so appealing! Nicely done!

  6. Nathan says:

    “Der you see her, sitting dar across the way . . . and you don’t know why but you’re dying to try you want to kiss de . . . ,” wait a second, where’s the girl? I know this is a previous picture, and though beautifully done, come on, “Swamp” as in swamped by a falling funnel of the Titanic? Like the way the light plays on the row boat. Still, no life-jacket or oars and an excited gator, there are some Titanic elements here. Maybe he’s playing Nearer My God to Thee (though Autumn would actually be accurate).

  7. Nathan says:

    What? You going all Titanic on me? Trying to pull a Smith, hun? [Which could refer to either Captain Smith or Senator Smith, form MI, who lead the congressional investigation after the accident]

Leave a Reply

