Pumpkin Patch Monster Fall Illustration

I created this illustration with pen and ink.  Today is officially the first day of autumn.  Fall is my favorite season of the year.  The days have finally started to cool down.  Soon the leaves will be turning.  There is something mysterious and thrilling about the clear brisk days of autumn, particularly in my native State of Michigan.  I love all the signs of fall, the sounds of the Canadian geese overhead, the first frost, the pumpkins and cider.  My favorite holiday is coming, Halloween.  I’ll post some more Halloween illustrations in the next few weeks.

pumpkinpatchmonster

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Patch Monster Fall Illustration

  1. Nathan says:

    Very cool B/W picture. My favorite time of year too. Was this the fate in-store for Lewis if his great pumpkin ever appeared? Nice use of the trees to frame the scene. I also liked the mirrored carved pumpkins, the one the girl is holding and the one in the pumpkin patch.

    • Nate, she seems to be okay with the creature. I would not be that comfortable around a giant candy eating pumpkin. Trees are a great way to frame in a composition. Trees are organic shapes that can believably bend and twist to fit any composition’s needs. Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

