I Have Always Loved Drawing Monsters

I created these drawings with a Faber-Castell brush artist pen and a Staedtler Fineliner pen.  The brush pen allows you to create a wonderful verity of line thicknesses, however it is hard to use for fine detail.  The drawings are of a subject I enjoy; I have always loved drawing monsters.  When I was young, my brother had a whole bunch of the TSR monster bendy toys from Dungeon and Dragons.  The toys were simple, almost completely without articulation and poorly painted, but they were a great deal of fun to play with.  He also had the TSR Fiend Folio book.  The Fiend Folio is a book filled with illustrations of heaps of imaginative creatures malevolent and benign.  The illustrations in the book I admire the most are created by Russ Nicholson.  His black and white illustrations have a great deal of detail and bold inking.  I figured I would make a few fan art drawings.  As a disclaimer, these drawings are neither created nor are they endorsed by the current copyright holders of TSR’s former property.  I made a Carrion Crawler, Hooked Horror and Rust Monster.  The Carrion Crawler is a mix of the original TSR version and the updated version.  I drew the Hooked Horror from the TSR Fiend Folio and the updated version (They both look incredibly ridiculous).   If you ran into the Hooked Horror in a dark passageway you would laugh and then run for your life.    I’ll post a few more Fiend Folio inspired drawings, next week.  carrion crawler copy hookhorror copy HookHorror2 copy copy

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “I Have Always Loved Drawing Monsters

  1. Nathan says:

    Great pictures. I think I fight the rust monster every day in the sunny north, and he always wins. Still, that was one of my favorites. Your 1st hook horror looks very buff, kind of like he is just leaving the local cave gym. However, your second one looks like he is happy to meet his owner coming back to the cave from a long day of pillaging. The Carrion Crawler is very well done, creepy, like one of those old insects that used to roam earth back when there was an oxygen bar around every corner. The B/W contrasts excellent. Nothing like a cave to explore the effects of light and shadows, almost like working with a scratch sheet. Cool, not-so-cuddly, critters.

    • Nate, thanks for the comment. That second hook horror does look like he is happy to see someone, or he is really anxious to ask a question. I like how the Carrion Crawler turned out, as well. I forget what that period when giant insects ruled the prehistoric world is called. Wait, just looked it up. It is called the Carboniferous period. I’m looking forward to making a few more drawings inspired by the Fiend Folio.

  2. Cindy D. says:

    Monsters! That one at the top is my favorite with those hilarious and clueless adventurers.

    Yours are more scary than mine, but I always liked monsters, too. Probably more the furry and friendly sort. D&D is an excellent source for inspiration. May I suggest a Shambling Mound? 😀

    • Cindy, thanks for the comment. A Shambling Mound is an excellent idea! I’ll have to draw that one, soon. You are right, monsters are a great deal of fun to draw in part because they can be any shape or size, friendly or fiendish.

Leave a Reply

