Journey to Ancient Egypt

My time travelers have traveled to Ancient Egypt in roughly the year 1,500 B.C.  I had a great many choices to use as  illustrations for Ancient Egypt.  There are many excellent illustrations from children’s publishing companies that show life in Ancient Egypt.  I settled on a throne room scene.  I looked at throne room illustrations and some Conan the Barbarian comics to come up with my design.  In my drawing, dignitaries from other lands are coming to pay tribute to Thutmose III, the mighty pharaoh of Egypt, and his co-regent, his stepmother Hatshepsut, who is watching by his side.

AncientEgypttimetravel copy

Tagged , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Journey to Ancient Egypt

  1. Nathan says:

    Excellent picture! I think this is one of the best in your time travel series so far. Wonderful composition of the thrown room: your bold use of shadow by the treasures, tributaries, royal couple and the hand maidens directs the eye, along with the carpet and columns, expertly. Moreover, your use of open space in the center leaves every detail and composition group distinct. Amazing detail. I was captivated by your scene for quite some time. I also like how your choice of Egyptian settings is original, instead of the cliché pharaoh standing on his tomb screaming at his day laborers or blasting down main street in an 8HP convertible. Love the monkey too. The only negative criticism I have is, why did you not go with Senusret III? I mean, come on? Senusret III was like the hieroglyphicing best pharaoh ever! Just seemed like a pretty striking omission, well, at least to me.

  2. Nate, thanks for the nice comment. I think the composition design worked out, well. I wanted a pharaoh from the height of Egyptian power and from around 1,500 B.C. That made Thutmose III my go to guy. Maybe I should have used Senusret III, maybe.

  3. Drawrite says:

    The detail is amazing!

  4. Cindy D. says:

    Wow, pretty spectacular! I love all the costume and jewelry and little details. Those solid inky shadows make a great contrast with the figures. Terrific storytelling!

  5. Cindy, thanks for the comment and the compliments. I have more adventures in time illustrations planned for the next few months.

  6. Susan says:

    Very appealing drawings. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

