Old Illustration of a Sea of Books

This is an old illustration from my undergraduate college days.  I found it in a pile of old work in my study and thought it deserved to see the light of day one last time.  I believe I used gouache paints and watercolors to create the illustration.  I don’t think I even have any gouache paints anymore.  Gouache is heavier and more opaque than watercolor.  Back in college, gouache was the paint of choice for most of our instructors.

Bookseacreature

Tagged , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Old Illustration of a Sea of Books

  1. Cindy D says:

    It’s great! Really nicely designed and tells a whole story. I don’t think I’ve ever used gouache but I keep planning on dragging the acrylics back out. 🙂

  2. Nathan says:

    I always liked this picture of yours. The colors are very nice. soft and well contrasted with the purple sea and blue sky. The imagery is also excellent for a fantasy piece- the guy sailing on an ocean of imagination provided by books, and the amazing possibilities of what he is able to to draw out.

Leave a Reply

