Sensible Footwear And The Great Wall Of China

My time traveling adventures have arrived in 210 B.C. at the Great Wall of China.  The girl picked up a dress in Greece in my last drawing.  She kept her sneakers, which if you are traveling through time is a sensible thing to do.

The first Emperor of China, Qin Shi Huang is given credit for starting the Great Wall.  When I created this drawing I was not  thinking about Emperor Qin Shi Huang, but about an old Choose Your Own Adventure book I remember reading in elementary school.  In one of the ending in the book you were stuck working on the Great Wall of China.  I believe the book I’m thinking of is, The Cave of Time.
Great Wall Of China

Tagged , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Sensible Footwear And The Great Wall Of China

  1. Nathan says:

    Glad your time travelers are back. I like how the girl picked up a dress, cool continuance from your last post. You should give the two kids names. And yes, after hiking thousands of miles in combat boots and biker boots, I have come to the conclusion, regrettably and reluctantly, that sneakers are the way to go (with leather gaiters, of course). Here is your “Well, actually,” moment (in true form). The Great Wall as we know and love it was actually built by the Ming dynasty in the 1400rds. The Huang wall was a rough fortification of mud, tramped earth and wood palisades, none of which survives. Regardless, great picture. The cloud cover and cliffs are wonderful background details. Your kids look like they are in trouble; might be time to head to the next spot. “Well, actually . . . .”

    • Nate, you just “Well actually-ed” me! You are right. Little of the wall from Qin Shi Huang’s time remains. I know that the majority of the existing wall from today is from the Ming Dynasty. I wanted to draw a Great Wall that people would recognize as the Great Wall. I’m taking some artistic license. I thought tramped earth and wood palisades would not be what people think of when they think of the Great Wall. “Well, actually . . . .”

  2. Cindy Dauer says:

    I did not know even that much about the wall but now I have been educated. 😀

    I love all the clothes, particularly the intricate parts! It’s a terrific scene.

Leave a Reply

